What Once Was Ours

And the tour begins…

WhatOnceWasOurs-300Following a successful run at Half Moon Theatre, What Once Was Ours has begun a major 26 venue UK tour.

This immersive new production has been created against the background of Brexit and developed through direct contact with young people across the country. The show uses their words and opinions to explore how politics and national values impact on the complex lives of one family.

Katie and Callum couldn’t be any more distant and disconnected: different heritage, different cities, different opportunities. Except there is one thing they’ll always have in common: Dad. What happens when Callum suddenly turns up in desperate need of help?

Beautiful imagery, striking original music and immersive design combine to create this powerful new production for young people, which asks why we’ve become so fearful of anyone who is different from us.

What Once Was Ours is an exciting collaboration between Zest and Half Moon Theatre; two of the UK’s leading companies creating work for young people.

#WhatOnce 

TOUR DATES

Nominated for an OFFIE (Off West End Award) for Best Production for Young People (aged 8+)

 

“★★★★★ Stuns the audience into silence”
LondonTheatre1

 

“★★★★ What the play achieves best is fluidity – between moments, emotions, politics”
Hiive

“A very personal story – with great sincerity”
The British Theatre Guide

360° Voices

Press play, put in your headphones and immerse yourself in a 360° world of real young voices and opinions. As the show tours the country giving a voice to the generation left unheard during Brexit.

(To watch 360° videos, you need the latest version of Chrome, Opera, Firefox, or MS Edge on your computer. On mobile devices, use the latest version of the YouTube app. OR, head over to our Facebook channel for the most immersive 360° interaction.)

 

Education Pack
Are you a teacher or youth worker? Then download this pack for free and dig deeper into What Once Was Ours.

DOWNLOAD EDUCATION PACK

What Once Was Ours

2017 TOUR DATES

 

Half Moon Theatre
Thursday 5th to Wednesday 11th October

(not Saturday 7th or Sunday 8th October)

 

Pegasus Theatre, Oxford
Friday 13th October

 

Bournemouth Arts by the Sea Festival
@ Pavillion Dance South West

Saturday 14th October

 

Durham Johnston School (not public)
Monday 16th October

 

Hartlepool Town Hall
Tuesday 17th October

 

Sunderland Stages @ Sunderland College 
Wednesday 18th October

 

The Mill Arts Centre, Banbury
Thursday 19th October

 

Juice Festival @ Northern Stage
Friday 27th October

 

Greenwich and Lewisham Young People’s Theatre
Monday 30th October

 

artsdepot, London
Tuesday 31st October

 

Stratford Circus, London
Wednesday 1st November

 

Farnham Maltings
Thursday 2nd November

 

Quarry Theatre, Bedford
Friday 3rd November

 

Waterside Arts Centre, Sale
Monday 6th November

 

Burnley Arts Centre
Tuesday 7th November

 

The Civic, Barnsley
Wednesday 8th November

 

Riverhead Theatre, Louth
Thursday 9th November

 

The Garage, Norwich
Friday 10th November

 

Guildhall Arts Centre, Grantham
Monday 13th November

 

Stamford Arts Centre
Tuesday 14th November

 

South Holland Centre, Spalding
Wednesday 15th November

 

Terry O’Toole Theatre, Lincoln
Thursday 16th November

 

Cast, Doncaster
Friday 17th November

 

The Egg, Bath
Monday 20th and Tuesday 21st November

 

Brewhouse Arts Centre, Burton
Wednesday 22nd November

 

The Marlowe, Canterbury
Thursday 23rd November

 

Cornerstone Arts, Didcot
Friday 24th November

 

Performances of What Once Was Ours at Half Moon Theatre formed part of the Black History Month celebrations in Tower Hamlets.

Please note, What Once Was Ours is an immersive production. There is no assigned seating and audiences stand throughout the performance. If you have any access requirements please contact the box office.

Supported by Tower Hamlets Council

WhatOnceLogoMontage